Skip to content

Follow your nose

February 2, 2012

Sketch in oil pastels of three little adjacent shapes connected to each other…which I think usually means follow your intuition. For me, as an artist, that means figuring out what resonates when I make it: the colors that get me excited, the shapes or lines that intrigue me, the painting surface that satisfies my visual and tactile senses. I can tell when another artist’s work really appeals to me, but it’s sometimes harder to get there when I’m the one doing the painting or collaging. I have an idea in my head, but the “creating” path I go down seems to have its own direction, often unrelated. I think that’s okay because I feel that I’m following clues. Trusting that intuitive creative process (tuning into the resonance) can bring unexpected results and evoke some new ideas….or remind me of what’s meaningful to me in making art.

I recently read a blog post by Sue Smith, in which she said something profound: “Refusing to follow the trends – if only for a short period of time – gives you the freedom to explore what living deeply and creating deeply might mean to you.  Maybe it’s an opportunity to make space for growth and understanding, to bring insight back and apply it with fresh energy and momentum.” I really like that!

I forgot to mention that this whole intuitive process is sometimes glitchy. And it’s certainly where I’ve been with the painting I just finished. I talked about it in a previous post. It has ended quite a bit differently than where it started. For one thing I flipped it upside down from how it was before. Here are the last two versions:

Acrylic painting with a checkerboard in the middleAcrylic painting which is the last version of the one above

I’m not sure about it yet, but it’s going to rest for awhile. I do like the checkerboard.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Alex permalink
    February 5, 2012 9:12 pm

    “Tuning into the resonance,” I really like that idea. It can be so easy to try and force the creative process, but in the end it needs to be organic. I think the end result is much more interesting when you just allow yourself to go wherever the resonance takes you. Keep it up!

    Like

    • February 6, 2012 5:11 pm

      Thanks, Alex! And I liked what you said about creativity being an organic process. Sometimes it’s hard to remember that there are still discoveries to be made–whether as a society or by us as individuals, and we need to trust in how that unfolds. Sometimes that’s slowly and mysteriously.

      Like

  2. February 4, 2012 4:22 pm

    Wonderful words!! and GORGEOUS images!

    Like

    • February 5, 2012 1:45 pm

      Thank you, Robin! …for reading and for your comments on my images. It’s nice to get feedback, especially when I feel like I am muddling along, like with this last painting.

      Like

      • February 6, 2012 1:51 pm

        Oh, my gosh…your work is absolutely stunning!

        Like

      • February 6, 2012 5:19 pm

        Thank you so much! It’s always so nice to hear that someone likes what you are doing. I appreciate you taking the time to have a look.

        Like

Leave a Reply

