Skip to content

A Big Mess

December 20, 2011

a doodle from my sketchbook

I’ve got a lot of mess going on in my studio right now.

picture of the studio and the mess in itBut that’s a good thing. After moving to a different house in a different part of the country and months of figuring out where to buy groceries, gas, art supplies, etc.; and doing the necessary things to make our new home “homey” (painting, tearing out pyracanthus, hanging blinds…), I’m back to making art. Whew.

And I’m stumped by an acrylic painting that has been on hold since early summer. I’m working on it again and trying to figure out where to go with it. This is the second painting with a checkerboard and a modified “Z” composition. Even though I’m struggling, I appreciate the challenge in solving the problem I’ve created. In retrospect, I think I could have saved myself some angst by doing a few thumbnails of other imagery to add (thumbnails are a valuable tool I got to practice at a painting workshop with Gwen Fox in September). Yesterday, I added a gesso float over the better part of the canvas to calm it down. I’m playing with some shapes along one axis of the “Z” to see if I can fit them in. Hmmm……..

picture of painting in progress using a checkerboard themeOh… I want to make a pitch for a Brooklyn Art Library Project that I’m participating in. It’s called the Sketchbook Project. Artists all over the world sign up to fill a small sketchbook (lots of topics!) and send it to the library. It becomes part of a traveling collection that is available to view in a variety of cities. The project I’m part of ends in January, but the library is launching another go-round for 2012. Check it out. I think it’s a great way to share ideas and some handmade art!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2012 7:51 am

    I conceive you have noted some very interesting points , thanks for the post.

    Like

  2. January 11, 2012 11:51 am

    I like the efforts you have put in this, thank you for all the great content.

    Like

  3. January 3, 2012 2:51 pm

    Gorgeous painting!
    Your colors and style are delightful.

    I signed up for the Sektchbook Project (I think it’s due in April??) and was all excited, brimming with ideas until the book actually arrived. Now I’m just staring at it, wondering what in the world to do…LOL

    Like

    • January 3, 2012 8:24 pm

      Thank you for your nice comments! I know what you mean. My sketchbook is due at the end of January and I haven’t done any pages yet. Ouch. But I did make new covers and foldout pages, and put it together with a spiral binding. It’s just that it’s empty.

      Cheers,
      Rebecca

      Like

  4. December 23, 2011 10:44 am

    Thanks, Gwen! I think those colors are “evolving.” Happy holidays to you, too! …and a very Happy New Year (we’re almost there).

    Love and hugs back,
    Reebie

    Like

  5. December 23, 2011 8:36 am

    Rebecca…..love the colors in the painting….you have some great “no name colors” !!!
    Happy Holidays.

    love and hugs
    gwen

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. “Flower World.” Acrylic Painting. | Create What You Want
  2. Simple art…simple pleasure « Rebecca Nolda – Studio Notes
  3. “Flower World.” Acrylic Painting. | createwhatyouwant

Leave a Reply

