Skip to content

Triangle as metaphor

March 4, 2011
small sketches of triangles in different positions

Some time ago I got interested in the triangle as a metaphor for human form—a symbol for character at its simplest. Sometimes two dimensional and sometimes three dimensional. I put triangles in different situations that were abstract but, for me, referenced real life.

I think it is valuable as an artist to invest in themes as a way to limit the variables being considered in the creation of an image. Having a limited subject is a unifying thread that tethers me a bit while letting me play with color, different media, and arranging a visual space.

I found that the triangles began to take on personalities. Some seem lost. Some seem happy. And some just seem flat and unengaged.

Here’s a stroll through some snapshots of the drawings and paintings I’ve done using the triangle theme:

Compilation of triangle drawings and paintings on different media
And here’s the painting I finished yesterday. Sure enough, there’s a triangle in there! …and I wasn’t even thinking about triangles.
Checkers, acrylic painting on canvas, 40 inches by 30 inches
4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2012 2:13 pm

    Your work is mesmerizing…lovely..powerful! And what a stunning visual journey here!! Loved the triangle “stroll!”
    :: applause::

    Like

    • November 22, 2012 3:30 pm

      Thanks so much, Robin! I am still fascinated by triangles…and still using them a lot in my work, especially in collage pieces. They just seem to convey a personality.

      Like

  2. Deb Larson permalink
    March 4, 2011 4:12 pm

    This could be a great class and I would be first in line – I love your comment about limiting variables – makes perfect sense and I just may have to take your advice and do some exploring of themes myself!

    Like

    • March 4, 2011 4:26 pm

      Hi Deb – I hadn’t thought of a class! That’s a great idea. I do know that too many possibilities will stop me dead in my tracks because I get overwhelmed. I accepted a challenge once to stay up all night drawing. My tools were a ream of white paper and a pen. The idea was to draw on all 500 sheets–making a mark, drawing something in more detail, basically whatever “emerged.” That was a very limited scenario. It was pretty interesting. I think by 3 a.m. I was just drawing one random line per page. But by 4 a.m., I actually had some more ideas.

      Like

Leave a Reply

